Creating your uniqueness


Adelaide 2015 - Copyright Key Image Photographers

I have never been one to follow the crowd. Even when I tried in my teenage years, desperate to fit in and feel “accepted” it all went wrong. I always came back to myself.

It wasn’t until I was into my thirties that I began to grow into my body, when I began to truly embrace who I am and the uniqueness of me.

While photographing the sunset in Adelaide at Glenelg I decided to hide from the crowds and photograph it from underneath the pier. Converting the file to an absence of colour and making it Sepia emphasises the strong and sturdy form of the pier.

Yes, it is good to capture those breath taking shots that you see constantly displayed on social media and the internet, but sometimes it is more magical to go your own way and create a photograph which embraces your uniqueness, describes who you are and resonates with your soul.

Some people use digital manipulation to create who they are and make the photograph unique to them. Manipulating the image so it represents how they feel, rather than what they see, and it becomes a piece of artwork like a painting. I prefer to take a photograph which is a representation of what I see and add words to it to describe how I feel. Everyone is different and everyone is unique. How do you show your own uniqueness in your photographs?

10 thoughts on “Creating your uniqueness”

  1. lovely under-pier-pic 🙂
    I feel very similar in terms of visual aesthetics, too many filters and manipulations often bring out artifice and kill the picture’s essence. A fresh angle or simply walking around with a pair of eyes and a heart which is open to the little everyday wonders is often far more magical…
    have a nice Sunday,
    Dagmar

    1. Thank you. I agree completely. I would rather spend more time getting the right effect with my camera rather than spend hours manipulating the image later. There are so many amazing artistic image manipulators out there and I envy them sometimes for being able to sit still long enough to create their work. So pleased you resonated with my post 🙂

  2. Lovely image! I like the combination of both. As long as the image is not “overcook” – I notice that too, there are many photographs that turn into painting than real photograph..

Leave a Reply

