Ubuntu


Copyright Key Image Photographers ubuntu-elephants
Two female elephants protectively prevent the baby elephant from being taken downstream by the current. Photograph taken whilst volunteering at Elephant Nature Park in Thailand.

I have often written about the connection that I feel to nature. I love being in the woods, surrounded by trees, the older the better. I love sitting in trees and feeling the comfortable swaying embrace of them. I also love being around animals, especially dogs.

20120916-173710.jpg
Poppy showing me her “happy face” The wind blew and caught her ears at the perfect time!

I have grown up with dogs. My first dog was there from birth and was my protector, my calmness and my best friend. My little Poppy, pictured above, has been my constant companion and has made me smile when I never thought I would smile again. I have worked with elephants, volunteered with animal sanctuaries and at one point felt I had my own animal sanctuary when I owned a disabled guinea pig and a ferocious rabbit who would chase birds from the garden.

Rascal, the most appropriately named rabbit
Rascal, the most appropriately named rabbit

But what about people? I find people harder to connect with than nature and animals. With an animal what you see is what you get. They are very true to themselves and they show their emotions. I have met many a cat who has shown their distaste at your existence.

People I find more complicated to understand. I can instantly feel when someone is not being true to themselves or when they are hiding something and it places me in a position of unrest in their company. I have met people who are selfish and needy, only wanting to validate their own self worth and, I am embarrassed to admit, I myself have been this way at a point in my life where I wanted someone else to desperately show me that I was good enough.

I have also met the most wonderful and open souls. People who are calm, confident within themselves and who genuinely care about other people. They don’t announce their grand gestures on Facebook or for the world to see, what they do they do because it comes naturally to them. I have been very fortunate to have had these people come into my life.

I have included a video link in this post today. It is from a TED talk by a man called Boyd Varty. He talks about the African term of Ubuntu, which is difficult to translate into English but Boyd describes it as “I am, because of you”

Click on the link UbuntuΒ and find yourself transported to 14 minutes of inspiration. I hope you enjoy it as much as I did.

7 thoughts on “Ubuntu”

  1. I share your thought about people, humans are indeed complicated and sometimes I do feel too that animals are much easier and honest..hm, except a monkey that we met in Bali πŸ˜€ – one of them tried to grab my camera bag! He or she was an exception πŸ™‚
    Thank you so much for sharing the video, truly wonderful!

    1. Monkey’s are so naughty! I had an experience in Thailand where me and my friends were in the ocean watching a large monkey patrol the beach and raid our lunch πŸ™‚ If we went near him he tried to scratch and bite us!
      So glad you liked the video. I thought it was pretty inspiring.

Leave a Reply

