PMA


2015 10 10 Adelaide flower copyright Key Image Photographers

I have been in Australia a while now and worked hard to get a visa which would allow me to fulfil my dream of living and working here. My idea was to come to Australia and set up my photography business here however, the visa I was awarded has requirements and certain restrictions which mean I have to work in an office for the time being…..

I promised myself I wouldn’t go into an office again! I have always found the office environment harsh and challenging. As an empathic person it can be over whelming at times and I have never been any good at playing office politics games. I found my photography allowed me to be outside more and to use my creative side. I was always a lot happier when I was being creative.

This week I started a new position in a new office. I have moved around so much in the past few years that starting somewhere new does not phase me anymore. There has been a lot to learn, as there always is when we are starting somewhere new. The week itself has moved quickly and I have been pleasantly surprised at how nice the whole environment has been! It has left me exhausted today and I have been taking some time to chill out and rejuvenate. This week has taught me a lot and I wanted to share with you some things which have helped me cope with the changes:

  • Acceptance – As hard as it can be sometimes you have to accept that something has to be done and get on and do it.
  • PMA (positive mental attitude) – Every morning I have woken up and decided what kind of day I want today to be. It has done wonders for setting the tone for the day.
  • Breathe – Take time out for yourself every day even if it is a few moments to focus on 10 breaths. You will be amazed at how much better you feel.
  • Be yourself – People can tell whether you are being genuine and true to yourself…besides why would you want to be anyone else.
  • Rejuvenate – Look after yourself and listen to your body. If you need to take a day out take it, your body, mind and soul will thank you for it!

I plan to continue to blossom positively in my new role and to continue to be creative at every opportunity I can. Do you have any suggestions regarding how you keep a PMA (positive mental attitude)? I would love to receive your comments below…..

3 thoughts on “PMA”

Leave a Reply

