Looking deeper


Sleeping in the jaws of the guardian!?
Sleeping in the jaws of the guardian!?

How many times do we look for a deeper meaning in things?

I recall walking around the Grand Palace in Bangkok. This amazing collection of architectural wonder was a photographers dream. Even people who claim they can not use a camera can take awesome photographs here.

While most people took the stand temple shots with their friends and family stood outside in a classic “evidence based” style to prove to the world on social media they were there. I was distracted by a story which spanned across the entire edge of the grounds.

The canvas was the external wall of the palace, marking the edge where the city began the the palace was guarded. It told the story of the the kings of Thailand history and contained what every good story needs….hero’s, fighting, dramatic rescues, war, love, drama and a dash of comedy.

Temple Guardian bridge copyright Key Image

As I followed the story and looked deeper and deeper I saw more and more, like when you stare at the night sky and hidden stars reveal themselves. There was a cheeky juggling monkey who made guest appearances more than once. Or the lovers caught in a passionate embrace hidden from view. I became engrossed at finding the little quirks in the story which made it unique and put some of the artists personality in there. I wondered how many other people had noticed this detail?

Juggling monkey copyright Key Image

Bangkok temple lovers copyright Key Image

If you happen to find yourself in Bangkok and wish to visit the Grand Palace I would recommend it. It is quite expensive for Thailand’s attractions (500 THB in 2014) but you can easily spend a whole day there. The strict dress code in enforced on the door so ladies make sure you have your arms and legs covered, same goes for men and ensure that you have socks with your sandals or closed toe shoes on. Some temples will require you to enter with bare feet only.

One thing I will recommend is to look deeper….don’t take surface value photographs. Look for what others might have missed.

7 thoughts on “Looking deeper”

  1. I agree with you, look deeper and observe! I remember I went to similar place two days in the row just to check something I might missed. Taking a subject from several angles also allow us to see more.
    Great tip and the images here are excellent!

    1. Thank you Indah. It’s like when you read the same book a year or two later, you always find something that didn’t jump out at you before. I was really mesmerised by the story line of the paintings 🙂

  2. This is nice. For me looking for deeper meanings is difficult, that’s why I guess other people complicate things like wars and technology and all. But I do believe knowing how to Love and knowing what love is, is the deepest thing we can get. Because you know Love is mysterious, we can’t even truly define it. Sacrifice is a relevant term, sacrificing your own self for your love ones happiness and them for you too.
    I love the photos btw.

    1. Thank you 😊 I can over complicate things by analysing them too much. This is when I have to remind myself life is about balance lol Love is an awesome emotion. I believe self love is just as important as loving others. I’ve had to learn how to put myself before others wants and needs 😊 balance and compromise. Hope you have a super weekend.

Leave a Reply

