Two way conversations


Dolphin interaction at Monkey Mia
Dolphin interaction at Monkey Mia

I love nature!

Since I was a little girl, as long as I can remember, I have held a deep infinity towards animals.

My best friend and loyal companion growing up was a gentle Alsatian dog. I learnt to walk using him as my support. He was my play mate, always eager for a game. He comforted me when I was scared just by being there. I have early memories of watching thunder and lightning with him without fear and feeling completely safe. Even now when there is a thunderstorm I find myself smiling at those early memories. I lost him when I was 7 years old. I was devastated. It was my first experience of loss and heartbreak.

Throughout my life I have never understood why human beings inflict such cruelty on animals. When I interact with an animal I can see its soul, just like I do when I interact with a person. I can feel its mood, just like I do when I am near a person. I can also feel its pain and sadness, the same as I feel other peoples pain and sadness.

I have worked with abused elephants in Thailand, volunteered at dog shelters, swam with dolphins in the wild (trust me it feels very different from swimming with them in captivity!) and rescued guinea pigs and returned them to full health. When I was younger I wanted to be a vet but I don’t think my house would have been big enough to accommodate all the animals I would have brought home.

I was walking in the park last night and watched as two teenage girls walked past engaged in conversation. Behind them, diligently following and being completely ignored was a Golden Retriever dog. I felt sad that the girls did not feel gratitude for having such a diligent companion and instead chose to ignore it and not interact with it.

I wanted to share the video above which I came across on my linkedin group.

I want to point out, not just the intelligence of this magnificent creature, but the peoples reactions when they realise that they are interacting with it, that this whale is communicating to them, sharing with them and saying “I understand”. The sheer joy and laughter from the free divers is what made me smile. I have seen this same response many times when people interact with dolphins (see above photograph taken at Monkey Mia), my dog greets them and they realise she is super friendly and happy to see them or even when a butterfly lands on them unexpectedly.

In order to have a meaningful interaction with something or someone, you need to be open to having a two way conversation. This “conversation” does not necessarily have to involve words!

Next time you are with an animal spend some time watching and connecting with it. They truly have a lot to teach us if only we would take the time to stop and listen.

4 thoughts on “Two way conversations”

  1. I do notice that animals have capabilities to communicate with humans. I feel this from my dog, sometimes I think he understood when I was down or tired. Well written article, I hope more and more people respect animals and care for them 🙂

    1. Me too! My dog is amazing at communicating. My friends find her hilarious as they can understand what she’s trying to say, which usually involves “ball” “fuss” “food” lol Thanks for taking the time to stop by 🙂

Leave a Reply

