Are you appreciating the good?


Hepworth Gallery, Wakefield
Hepworth Gallery, Wakefield

Sometimes you forget to appreciate what you have around you all the time. It becomes normal, mundane and similar. You start to take it for granted.

After travelling extensively I came home with a whole new perspective on life. I had seen new places, met new people and expanded my view of the world. Stepping back in to a familiar “place” was hard, like trying to squeeze into a pair of old socks which don’t fit you anymore and the holes in the toes keep catching you out. It still felt like home but I looked at it differently.

I could really appreciate all the good things about my home town. The bad things were still there but I realised that everywhere has good and bad points. Life is about balance after all.

I started to look and appreciate the history, the buildings such as the Opera House. Sandal Castle where the Battle of Wakefield was fought in 1460. Bretton Hall where you can wander around a period Manson, admire Henry Moore and Barbara Hepworth sculptures and walk in the woods and fields. The Hepworth Gallery (pictured above) built on the canal wharf which is FREE to enter and wander around.

Sandal Castle ruins
Sandal Castle ruins

Even in my home suburb of Outwood, an ex-mining community as many of the suburbs are around this area. I began to notice that if I walked down a back alley and through a new housing estate there were hidden period houses from Edwardian times. The large Victorian terraces with so much character looming down the main road to Leeds and my favourite walk high up on the farmers fields at the back of Newton Hill where you can see for miles out towards the moors.

So many people when they travel rush to tick a destination off their list….spent 3 days in London, tick! 4 nights in Bangkok, tick!

How many people stop for a while in one place and really begin to learn about it? The longer you stay still the more you see and travel is no different. You see the good, the bad and the ugly when you remain in one place long enough. This kind of travel truly makes you appreciate the good so much more.

2 thoughts on “Are you appreciating the good?”

  1. I love the refreshed perspective that I have about my home after I’ve been away for a while. Sometimes I get mired down by the “stuff” in the house (I live with a husband and son who both have ADHD and have huge organizational challenges), but after being away, I can come home and purge things easily and quickly. One of my husband’s and my favorite things to do in the summer at the end of a day of yard work is to sit on the front porch and look at the yard, the woods, the field that is next to our place, and look out to a small mountain beyond that. So beautiful and we often forget to take a moment to appreciate it and be grateful for it.

    I’d love to go touristing in your town. So much old history there in the UK. My grandfather was born in Newcastle, but moved to the US as a boy. Unfortunately, he died when I was quite young, so I only know him through family stories.

    1. It’s funny but it has only been since I started travelling and living in different countries that I have come to realise how much history the UK actually has! When you live there it just becomes part of everyday life.
      I love a good purge 🙂 Clean room, clean mind is one of my favourite beliefs. If I feel frustrated or fuzzy sometimes I have a good clean and tidy up and I feel so much better in myself.

Leave a Reply

