What is creativity?


Sphere Copyright Key Image Photographers

What is creativity?

Is it someone else’s interpretation of your final product?

Is it a sketch, drawing, photograph, sculpture?

Is it a poem, a piece of music or a strum of chords?

I was recently given a photographic brief to be “creative”. That was it! I found this harder than being told specifics. It gave me complete free reign to create a wonderful piece of photographic work. However, the ultimate goal of the person who asked me to be creative was to sell a property….

This left me with a dilemma.

Do I go all out and start taking photographs of the perfectly symmetrical corners of the room and the interesting contrast of light and dark shadows which will mean absolutely nothing to someone looking to see if the property has two bedrooms or three? Or do I tone down my interpretationΒ of creativity to a suitable level which still represents what the buyer would want to see but then it isn’t all out creative as I have the potential to be. When I asked, I was told to go “all out”!?

Creative enough or too far?
Creative enough or too far?

The confusion comes because the term “creative” is unique to the individual. Someone may feel that they have been creative when painting a wall a different colour in their house, another when they completely redesign and landscape the garden.

I recall at art college being constantly baffled by the pure spectrum of creativity! Just tell me what to photograph or draw or paint…..

When I was creative in my own way, it didn’t seem to appeal to the lecturers. It didn’t achieve the higher grades so I was stuck….do I tone down my interpretation of creativity and do something which I know will get me a first so I can go on and be successful in society or do I stuff all of it and do my own little weird Sam thing in the corner of the room and hope for the best?

Being the rebel I am I did my own thing and didn’t come out too badly.

The problem with actually being creative for me has been everyone else’s opinion of my creations! We are in an approval driven society. We seek to improve, to be the best, to stand out but blend in and it is exhausting!

So in order to escape the constrains of being creatively controlled this weekend I went to Cottlesloe Beaches Sculpture by the Sea exhibition. It was interesting the large crowds creativity drew! As well as the number of photographers….you know, documentary photographers….stand by the sculpture, take a photo, move on!

Through the sculpture copyright Key Image Photographers

What about watching the way the light captures it…..or the fact there are rainbows on the ground by your feet? Whatever happened to looking up? Or down? Or simply sitting and watching? I wish I could have captured photographs of people’s faces when I walked up to the sculpture and held my camera so it was looking up the length of the sculpture! I mean someone being creative at an art exhibition, what’s that all about?

Close up metalwork copyright Key Image Photographers

I seem to have gone into a rant in this post. As a creative person I have always felt constantly frustrated at societies constrains so this is something very personal to me.

What is creativity to you? How do you express it?

8 thoughts on “What is creativity?”

  1. I think creativity is all down to interpretation. It’s the vision you have that created which is unique. People may not understand your creativity but who is another to deem that it is not creative? I think when people hear the back story of a vision, they start to look at the project in a different way.

  2. Somehow I interpret creativity in art is something that unique and unusual. I have never really thought about the description itself though…the images that you took are really nice and as well unique..good luck with the assignment πŸ™‚

  3. first off, thanks for the continual “likes” on my p;osts. I appreciate your following my blog πŸ™‚

    where to begin…. I love, love, love this “rant”, as you call it. I’m often perturbed at society’s hypacriticle tendancies. We praise artists and musicians for their rebellousness and “creativeity” but don’t support something (pay money) for things outside our comfort zone. part of the reason, if feel, is that people accept things if they can relate to….and appreciate something that makes them think about said thing in a different way. The problem comes when art is so “creative” that it is outsid ethe realm of someone’s thought process. IS THAT OUR FAULT? DOES THAT MAKE IT MORE OR LESS CREATIVE?

    As you inferred, IMO, creativity is a personal expression and unique to a person’s point of view. Not everyone will understand or appreciate it. Selling it puts undue pressure on the artist and diminishes the purity of the process. The quandry is HOW TO EXPRESS CREATIVITY while earning a living…..

    what do you think??

    1. Thank you for your input! I completely agree with you there…some very valid points! I have been told I am highly creative since I was a small child but also advised it will not get me anywhere in life and I ended up leaving University and entering creatively unfulfilling jobs which I found suffocating to say the least. People want creativity in their lives but often are not accepting or open minded enough of others to allow themselves to truly understand it. Beauty is, in this case, in the eye of the beholder.
      Thank you again for taking the time to comment. I enjoy reading your blogs…keep writing πŸ™‚

  4. I see ‘creativity’ as ‘being true to yourself’: to allow yourself to create in your own personal way. My personal way was to create imaginative works (art, poetry, writing) influenced by anything including emotions.
    For most of my life I have been a self-taught artist/poet/writer and I would say that those years of exploring my own creativity, in my own way, were the best. The few years I did spend at art college, when I was older, were the worst, and made me so glad that I didn’t go to art college earlier in my life.

    1. Thank you for taking the time to comment and share your experience πŸ™‚ I agree….I found doing an art degree frustrating and restrictive! Ironic really isn’t it. I love that you describe it as being true to yourself! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

