What is home?


Sometimes I forget what home is.

I am divided between two places at the moment with connections and family and friends in each. It is a surreal feeling. Like I am living in two worlds, parallel universes.

Home for me is somewhere you feel comfortable. It is familiar. It is relaxing and it allows you the space just to be you.

So many people place an emphasis on the material aspect of home….it is 4 bedrooms, two bathrooms and a double driveway.

For me home is love, safety and security. It is about the feeling that it brings. Home could be a person or a pet. When I see my dog and cuddle her, I feel like I am home.

A long time ago my house did not feel like my home. It felt dark, negative and depressing.

I made a conscious effort to change that. I redecorated. Tidied up. Cleared things out which I no longer needed. It was therapeutic and cleansing to me as well as the building. I began with the intention of creating a space which was mine. Which I felt comfortable in. I wanted to feel like I was getting a hug when I walked through the door.

I went back to that space this week. I haven’t lived there for nearly 18 months now and it felt weird. The memories were still there but the feeling was different. It felt empty and cold and I realised that it was my energy and intention which made the space so warm and inviting.

Home, to me, is now somewhere different. I actually feel like I carry it with me more. Home is inside of me. It is transportable. I sound like a snail! Maybe I am?

What is home to you?

2 thoughts on “What is home?”

Leave a Reply

