Maintaining your balance


Just recently I have been feeling quite fed up. I am still working on recognising and accepting my emotions. It is something which does not come easily to me and my instinctive reaction has always been to shut people out when I feel anything other than happy.

I wanted to share this with you because I am aware that I am not alone in this automatic response. Society has a way of shunning people who are not responding in a “happy” way. If people are depressed, stressed or hurting it is hard to know what to do or say so it is easier to do or say nothing.

The other day I decided to attend my yoga class in an attempt to cheer myself up. I have discovered that if I am feeling low I can wallow in that feeling and so it is good, once I have acknowledged what I am feeling, to distract myself with something which makes me feel good. However, I could not get my balance in the standing poses. At one point I actually fell over! This is extremely unusual for me but also a powerful message. I was literally out of balance within myself.

I immediately started to do things for myself which make me feel more balanced such as mediation, listening to music, dancing, baking and walking. I haven’t tried standing on one leg just yet but hopefully when I am in my yoga class tomorrow I will be a lot more grounded and stable!

I wanted to share with you a motivational video which I find extremely powerful. It has strong and clear messages for me and is one of the tools I use when I am feeling low or out of balance. I hope by sharing my experiences and coping strategies that when you are feeling low or out of balance you might find one of them of use.

How do you maintain your balance? It would be great to know!

4 thoughts on “Maintaining your balance”

Leave a Reply

