Dreams, wishes and prayer

Bertie at Base Camp

The thing which Bertie noticed the most against the backdrop of panoramic mountains and snow were that the Nepalise people hung coloured prayer flags so that the wind would capture their dreams, wishes and prayers.

Bertie discovered that the flags were originally hung as talismans to protect Tibetans during times of war. These have now developed to have messages of hope and peace written on each flag. The flags have five colours. Each colour symbolising five elements, white stands for air, space and the vastness of the sky, blue stands for the ether or the wind element, green and yellow symbolise water and earth and the red flag represents fire. The prayer flags also represent the five meditation Buddhas and the five wisdoms; compassion, harmony, wisdom of sight, kindness and perfect wisdom.

Everyone has dreams, wishes and hopes and as Bertie watched the flags dance rhythmically on the gentle breeze he hoped that the wishes and prayers of the people who had left them there had been answered. As Bertie continued to learn more about the prayer flags and why they were hung he learnt that above all they symbolise peace and harmony with our friends and family, and with the greater universe.

What a lovely way for the world to think. Bertie hoped that one day everyone is the world would work together for the goodness of everyone and everything. He was beginning to realise and understand that we really are all connected to everything and everyone around us. We just have to stay still long enough to notice!



Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s