Follow your dreams


Poppy & me after facing and conquering Mount Snowden
Poppy & me after facing and conquering Mount Snowden

For years I have been telling people that I want to travel. I have longingly watched people fulfil their own adventures and felt a yearning to do the same. I have told myself that I can’t, its not practical, I don’t have the finances, I don’t have someone to travel with, what about my house? etc.

The more and more I have thought about it the more I have decided that I know what I need to do and now I am, eventually, fulfilling my dream.

What started off as a month in Australia has snowballed into a fantastic adventure. I have rented my house, quit my full time and secure job (that I wasn’t happy in anyway) and I am all set to leave the UK next week.

I plan to travel, on my own, to Thailand, Nepal, Australia, New Zealand, Fiji and the USA.

The morale of my story is, whether you think you can or you think you can’t you are right either way. 

I will be continuing with my blog and will post my photographs and write about what I continue to learn about myself, other people and life in general.

By far the hardest thing I will have to do is to leave behind my little companion who has devoutly followed me where ever I have gone. She has taught me about friendship and unconditional love and brightened every day I have spent with her. Poppy, my Jack Russell, is staying with my parents and will no doubt be having an adventure of her own in my dad’s allotment!

In leaving her behind she has taught me another valuable lesson: Sometimes in life we have to follow our own path and do what is right for us. This may not be in line with those around us and we may have to part ways with people who are close to us. So many times this causes anger and frustration because people don’t understand, feel rejected or are operating from some other ego based feeling. However, if we can choose to part ways with love, and they are strong enough to allow us the freedom and space that we need in order to do what we need to do for ourselves, there is a new found appreciation, respect and caring for them which can only nurture the love and the bond we already have. This also leaves the door open for us to return to their lives in the future.

I dedicate this post to Poppy 🙂

Leave a Reply

