Who are you?


alice-with-caterpillar2

I came across an article regarding change and this paragraph stood out for me:

“The biggest reason why people do not get what they want in life is because they genuinely do not know what they want. One of the reasons for this is because they are living someone else’s life and listening to someone else’s voice”

Who are you? Not what do you do, you are not defined as your job or the role you play in life. Who are you?

I went for a drink with a very good friend and as usual we talked about many things. However, she consistently managed to revert the conversation to her job. This would be fine as a one off but I have noticed this is a regular pattern. At this moment in time her job defines who she is. I have been there myself. The question I had to ask myself was who am I?

Now in all honesty this is a BIG question. Most people are too caught up in the daily drama of their lives to stop and ask themselves this question. I always wonder what they are scared of, what are they worried that they will find? This is the main reason for not getting to know yourself…fear!

There are two driving forces in our lives, fear and love. It is up to you to choose which one you want to operate from.

So how do you get to know who you are? Start questioning….some questions you could ask yourself are outlined below. You don’t have to share the answers with anyone else; you will only get the answers from within. Perhaps take a question a day for a week and contemplate on the answer. I always find that when I distract myself from whatever it is I want answering the answer seems to pop in my head, and it is usually embarrassingly obvious.

Good luck and remember the longest relationship you will have with anyone in this life is the one you will have with yourself.

What are my likes and dislikes?

What makes me different from the next person?

What are my unique skills and strengths?

What am I good at?

What makes my heart sing?

Who do I love, value and appreciate and why? (You usually find these are the positive qualities you have yourself)

2 thoughts on “Who are you?”

  1. Very good article. I can identify with this message as from my post “Knowing Yourself.”

    http://breathethislife.wordpress.com/2013/10/12/who-are-you/

    However, it is not just as simple as making life goals or decisions. The idea is that discovering yourself- your passions- will lead you to happyness, as if finding joy was only a matter of identifying it. The challenge that is hardly discussed are the environmental and social “traps” (for lack of a better word) that keep us from making a change. Example: Say a 12 y/o fat kid wants to loose 50 pouinds and eat healthier; it is decidedly more difficult for them when they were raised and depend on unhealthy meals prepared from unhealthy parents opposed to a kid raised and fed by health-conscious ones.

    My point is that even though making a change greatly depends on dedication and self-motivation, if you rely on others for life support, either physically, mentally or monitarily, making a change is not as easy as some “gurus” make it out to be.

    I love the quote: “Remember the longest relationship you will have with anyone in this life is the one you will have with yourself.” It reminds me that utlimately whatever you choose to do in life, as long as you are joyful in your heart, you will feel fullfilled.

Leave a Reply

